KnowledgeKnut

Experientialist: a collector of experiences, especially one-of-a-kind.

Daily Prompt: Immortalized in Stone

Daily Prompt: Immortalized in Stone

Your personal sculptor is carving a person, thing or event from the last year of your life. What’s the statue of and what makes it so significant?

I didn’t even need to think about the answer to this one – the PHOENIX.

In Greek mythology, a phoenix is a long-lived bird that is cyclically regenerated or reborn. Associated with the sun, a phoenix obtains new life by arising from the ashes of its predecessor. – Wikipedia

It has long been my personal symbol and if there was a time in my life that summed that up, it would be this past year:

In the ashes

Was diagnosed with cancer in late 2011, had surgery in 2011 and completed radiation treatments in January of 2012.

Fired from my job for needing to take off time to complete the radiation treatments.

Forced to move out of my house of the last 6 years, because the a**hole judge gave it to the ex (at the last minute for no good reason).

Got nothing from the divorce, no equalization payment, no alimony, no car, no home.

Rising from the ashes

Found a wonderful place to live
Planted a gigantic garden
Started to feel a little bit better (health-wise)
Bought a car
Started a blog
Went to an Empowerment Retreat (where I broke 2 1″ boards with my hand and an arrow with my throat)
Took a vacation with my Mom for the very first time (just the two of us) to San Francisco!
Went to an Equine Retreat (broke another board)
Passed my first year cancer free
Acted in a play for the first time in my life
On New Year’s Eve (weather permitting) I will walk on fire!

It’s been an AWESOME YEAR!

KnowledgeKnut

7 comments on “Daily Prompt: Immortalized in Stone

  1. angelfrouk
    December 28, 2012

    I really hope next year will be even better for you! *hugs*

    • knowledgeknut
      December 29, 2012

      Awwwwww! Thank you & hugs to you too!

      There is one more event that I didn’t add because it will happen on New Year’s Eve – I’m going to walk on fire – woo hoo!

      • angelfrouk
        December 29, 2012

        Oh dear… Sounds dangerous. Be careful!

      • knowledgeknut
        December 31, 2012

        Hi

        I will – thank you!

        Here is a little more about it: http://wp.me/p2zGQ7-O4

  2. Pingback: THE DEATH OF DEPRESSION « hastywords

  3. eof737
    December 28, 2012

    Blessings to you for an awesome 2013!

    • knowledgeknut
      December 29, 2012

      Thank you Elizabeth! Same for you and yours!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 28, 2012 by in Non-Fiction and tagged , .
Flag Counter

Blog Stats

  • 32,710 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 368 other followers

