KnowledgeKnut

Experientialist: a collector of experiences, especially one-of-a-kind.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond

Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond

Do you have a photo which invites the viewer to look beyond? Are there hidden depths in the background? Is the focal point just a framing for the rest of the picture?

How funny that this challenge should be exactly about these two pictures.  Well, mostly.  I took these photos from two different directions because they showed two different things.  I thought they would be good photos for a story or a poem.

IMG_3135

The first photo shows a road that continues without end.  It is very intriguing, what else is down that path?  There are buildings in the distance, so you might assume that the structure is a house, or garage, by its shape.  Again, not very easy to tell from where the photographer is standing and I think this is one of the aspects that makes it inviting.

IMG_3136

The second photo, to me, is not as interesting.  It has sides of buildings, fences, and while the end of the road is still visible, it isn’t as inviting.  It looks boring, cluttered and typical of an older neighborhood when garages where detached from the house.  Not only does it not look interesting, it might not be a good idea if the homeowners get worried and call the police!

A random sampling of other posts:

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: beyond | West Coast Kayaker
  2. Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond « nightmare of daytime
  3. 1-20-13 Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond « The Quotidian Hudson
  4. Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond « Blessed Zyra
  5. Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond! « ranDom muZings
  6. Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond « Ruth E Hendricks Photography
  7. Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond | Randomness
  8. Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond « mightwar
  9. Weekly photo challenge: beyond « Margaret’s Miscellany
  10. Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond | Shail’s Nest
  11. Wild Weekly Photo Challenge-People in Nature / Weekly Photo Challenge-Beyond | Travels and Trifles
  12. Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond…Are Angels with Autism « Advocacine’s Blog
  13. Weekly Photo Challenge–Beyond | A New Day Dawns
7 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond

  1. mightwar
    January 22, 2013

    I like the way that you contrasted the two shots and the different pictures that they paint in the mind’s eye. For me, the second picture makes me think that just beyond the end of the lane is someplace I am on my way to visit. This is not a familiar place, so I find my attention drawn to the surroundings to check that I have arrived at the place that the directions say.

    • knowledgeknut
      January 22, 2013

      Isn’t that fun? One place – two different looks, many different perspectives to play with. At first I wasn’t sure that I captured what I wanted to capture. Then as I wrote out this post, I realized that I did and your comment confirms it for me. The more I photograph, the more I realize that a photo is like a story, a book, you should take the time to “read” it. It will have different meanings and different implications for everyone, but what a fun journey it can be!

  2. Pingback: Photo Project: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 3, 'Beyond'] « 3rdculturechildren

  3. Pingback: 1-24-13 Weekly Photo Challenge Beyond #3 (Going Beyond) « The Quotidian Hudson

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond « Dibbler Dabbler

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2013 by in Photography and tagged , , , , .
Flag Counter

Blog Stats

  • 32,593 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 368 other followers

