KnowledgeKnut

Experientialist: a collector of experiences, especially one-of-a-kind.

The Kindness of Strangers….

I received a beautiful e-mail from someone I met a little over a year ago through the swapacd site.  We spent a couple of weeks e-mailing, chatting and then the conversations tapered off as we got busy with our lives.

Today I received, not one but, two e-mails from my swapacd buddy. They are so beautiful, that I wanted to share them with you:

“It’s been over a year since I last wrote you, ….  Just wanted to say that I was on swapacd.com this evening, completely out of the blue remembered you and our past conversation (and your blog posts about gardening, food, animals and more), checked my past email threads for your blog link, and visited there to find your most recent *** 2 YEARS FREE OF CANCER *** post – and your two Yahoo News article links.

YAY!!!!!  YAYYYYYYY!!!!!  I hadn’t known you were cancer-free about a year when we last corresponded, or that you’d even had it.  And I’m just jazzed and thrilled for you!

Yes, the only thing that can stop you now is you.  You GO! :-)

Wishing you good health and everything good in your life,”

Then about a 1/2 hour later, this:

Just was reading about the BREVAGen test, that JamesL mentioned on one of your blog posts.

Their website doesn’t list any physicians in California who administer it.  Here’s the company’s website:   http://brevagen.com/c/gail_test

But … there’s a mid-September 2013 news release from a UCSF-affiliated doctor who does have the test, Pearl W. Yee; you can find it via a Google search on “brevagen and pearl”.

Have no idea of cost or coverage for this.  The reports I glanced at – however quickly and superficially – seem to indicate this test is reasonably accurate at measuring 5 year risk.

If you find that you want to take this test and it’s at all reasonably affordable, but you need help paying for it (with or without an Obamacare plan), and if you decide to put up a page on a crowdfunding site to raise money for that (http://www.forbes.com/sites/nextavenue/2013/04/17/when-medical-bills-pile-up-can-you-crowdfund-your-health-care/) – I’ll be glad to chip in what I can, even if it’s a bit modest.  Please keep that in mind.”

 
=================================================================== 

I did do a quick look up on the Brevegan test.  Yes, I am intrigued, albeit a bit scared.  Sometimes ignorance is bliss.  But I have to admit that is as far as I got, especially since I don’t have any insurance at the moment.This beautiful, beautiful offer touched me so deeply.  This kind gesture, aside from bringing tears to my eyes, has left me speechless and flabbergasted. However, and because of this, I will check into the test and see what I can find out.

THANK YOU ARON
favorite quote maya angelou

http://news.yahoo.com/cancer-beyond-frightened-exhilarated-214800568.html

http://voices.yahoo.com/dealing-breast-cancer-diagnosis-12361332.html?cat=70

10 comments on “The Kindness of Strangers….

  1. sula1968
    October 21, 2013

    Very heartwarming to be reminded that there are ‘good folk’ out there

    • knowledgeknut
      October 21, 2013

      Yes, it really is. Especially after the last few months of dealing with people who think they are above everyone else.

  2. Cowboys and Crossbones
    October 21, 2013

    Isn’t it wonderful how a nice gesture can leave us dumbfounded in the best way? I’m so thrilled for you in that you have been cancer free for two years!

    • knowledgeknut
      October 21, 2013

      Hi HONEY!

      How have you been? It’s so great to see your pretty face! Dumfounded is spot on, truely. Thank you for the congrats – the benchmark is 5, so I’m 2/5 of the way there!

      • Cowboys and Crossbones
        October 21, 2013

        Well, I’m sure there will be a big congrats in three years, too! :) I’m hanging in there – seems you fell out of my reader for some reason. Now I’m back in sync with you! XOXO

      • knowledgeknut
        November 13, 2013

        :lol: Well, I’m sure I fell off a lot of people’s readers. After Sadie died, I was in a fog for such a long time. If it wasn’t for these plays, I would have been lost, they gave me something to focus on.

  3. huntmode
    October 21, 2013

    People can so astound us with their thoughtfulness and generosity. So glad you shared this! Best ~ HuntMode

    • knowledgeknut
      October 21, 2013

      Hello Dear Friend

      Hope all is well in your world. I love the saying – A bolt from the blue. Yup, that’s what it was.

      • huntmode
        October 21, 2013

        Do you suppose that is right up there with “Once in a blue moon?” Grin. Keep ‘em coming KK.

      • knowledgeknut
        November 13, 2013

        LOL! Yes!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 20, 2013 by in Non-Fiction and tagged , , , , .
Flag Counter

Blog Stats

  • 30,472 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 339 other followers

